Burgers, Dogs, & Ribs, Oh My!

Every Memorial Day our family has a cookout. It’s not a barbecue, but a cookout. What’s the difference? A cookout is when you fire up that rusty, old ass grill that’s been sitting in the backyard all year long. A barbecue is when you have a lovely, stainless steel gas grill on your deck, and you invite your co-workers or associates to come partake of your booze and your food. Okay, I made all that up, but you kinda get my drift.

Myia’s in town this weekend, and we started the weekend off right. She made a delicious warm, steak salad, with these chunky mushrooms, red onion wedges, chunky steak bits, and salad greens. It was the best damn salad I’ve ever had-no joke. It was fucking delicious! I am salivating at the thought. i am going to Giant Monday and buying the ingredients and making my own. We topped it with this chunky, fat-free, blue cheese dressing. OMG!  You must try it.

I am nervous as hell about going to the family cookout. I have no self-control when it comes to barbecue. The chicken, the ribs, the potato salad. It’s all home-style which means it aint healthy. I know I’ll gain at least 2 pounds before the weekend is over. I’m still at 179-no gain, no loss. I’m a little disappointed. Actually, I’m a lot disappointed. I am admittedly taking to many cheat days. I am slowly weening myself off the M&Ms. They are my downfall. Enough yapping for now. I’ll check in on Monday with the gory details of “The Cookout.” Later on today, I’m going to attempt to do Level 2 of The Biggest Loser workout. It’s a high-powered, 30 minute, boot camp-style workout. It’s continuous movement. Even the warm up and cool down are intense (and I hate yoga.) I’ll holla….

About Musings IRJ

Lover of books, cats, gorgeous men, and fine fuckery. Love and laughter heals most.

Posted on May 25, 2008, in Fat Myia, Fat Trice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I hate that feeling – I was just telling my hubby the other day, “Why does heating healthy have to be so %*$&%& bland?”

    I hate being the only one at the party not eating two pieces of cake, eating multiple servings of au gratin and skipping most of the alcohol because of the caloric intake.

    I do think it’s worth it in the long run though; being healthy is the best gift you can give yourself and your family.

    But, for today, with the BBQs, I have no doubt that it totally sucks. =)

Leave a Reply

