Taking Some Time To Recharge

My birthday is this coming Monday, and I’m so over birthdays. Not because of the getting older thing, but because the love of my life Spencer is no longer here to share it with me. He died last September from complications of Sickle Cell Anemia, and while I’m better than I was 11 months ago, I don’t know if I’ll ever fully recover from losing him. Losing him was like losing a limb. We were like Martin & Gina, sometimes Ike & Tina, but we were always Trice & Spen or Spen & Trice depending on whom you asked. So with this bittersweet occasion approaching, I know Myia wanted to take me away to get my mind off of things and help me release some stress and tension.

She and her “sister-in-law” Alisa are treating me to a spa day in Atlantic City no less, so I’m on the Amtrak tomorrow in route to getting my spa on! I haven’t been to Atlantic City in over ten years and guess whom I was with? Yeah, ole Spendy. I can’t go anywhere without being reminded of him, but I am looking forward to my Swedish message, detox body mask, and maybe a little slot action.

I’ll check in before the weekend’s over to detail my trip. Damn, I am getting older!

About Musings IRJ

Lover of books, cats, gorgeous men, and fine fuckery. Love and laughter heals most.

Posted on August 13, 2008, in Fat Trice. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

  2. Thanks Lteefaw! I’m in a good place. I thank God for another day and another year. I have my health, a roof over my head, food on the table, and the love of my family and friends.

  3. Anita Greenkard

    God Bless You..so sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

