“Progress, Not Perfection”

I saw this quote on the wall at Jenny Craig tonight.  I needed it like a Baptist preacher needs a dry rag on an August Sunday morning.  Progress, not perfection.  I was so down when I got on the scale today at The Craig.  I lost the weight I gained while I was layed up with my bad neck.  I got down to 183 lbs – that’s 17 lbs less than I weighed when we started this blog.  I was SO down.  I felt like I had sacrificed so much in the last 3 weeks trying to follow my Action Plan for such little loss.  My first thought was bacon cheeseburger, my second thought was Godiva.  Luckily, my third thought was “progress, not perfection.”

We have to remember to savor the little things.  “Every day on the plan is a win,” that’s another quote from The Craig.  But it’s true.  Little things mean a lot.  The big chunks of weight loss don’t happen every week.  Sometimes, progress is about drinking all your daily water, not having that bag of M&Ms, working out when you really just don’t feel like it.

Today my big win was fighting off a case of the “I really wanted to lose more weight blues.”  It hurt so badly not to have lost more.  But, there we go again…the measure of progress is subjective. 

Think of your daily “wins.”  What does progress mean to you?  What have you accomplished?  What new ways of keeping on track have you discovered and stuck to?  I’d like to hear from you.

Posted on September 17, 2008, in Fat Myia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sometimes progress is just about maintaining.

    I got up to a ungodly number of pounds this year. I started exercising in September (twice a week) and stopped eating deep fried foods, fast foods, and sodas.

    I’m down 32 pounds so far. If I maintain that, I’m happy. Don’t be so hard on yourself.

Leave a Reply

